Audition
Echo Youth Theatre
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Poster
Performance Dates:
6th - 11th August 2019
Performance Times:
Matinees: 2:30pm
Evenings: 7:00pm
Audition Dates:
15th March 2019 &
17th March 2019
We are really excited to be working with Sound Ideas Theatre Company on our first joint venture and are delighted to be able to offer this fantasmorgorical opportunity to be part of one of the world’s favourite musicals, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.

Sound Ideas Theatre Company (www.soundideastheatre.co.uk) are an amateur theatre group based in Norwich, who formed only two years ago, but in that time they have produced a series of high-quality musical productions. We know the quality of Sound Ideas’ productions, so we know that Chitty is going to be an amazing show and a wonderful experience to be part of.

To be performed in the spacious Banking Hall at Open, Norwich, the show will play to large audiences, over 8 shows from 6th Aug to 11th Aug 19.

Due to the number of shows being performed, all children’s roles will be double-cast. Therefore, we are looking to cast:

Jeremy Potts - 2 x boys, ideally 9-12 years old and under 5ft 2in, with strong singing voices and excellent stage presence

Jemima Potts - 2 x girls, ideally 9-12 years old and under 5ft 2in, with strong singing voices and excellent stage presence

Child Ensemble – 2 teams of 15 children to play the child ensemble, ideally most will be under 5ft 2in, but there will be scope for a few in each team to be taller.

AUDITIONS

Click here link for Full Audition Pack, with audition pieces
Download

Auditions will take place on Fri 15th Mar (evening) and Sun 17th Mar (morning) - all children will need to attend both audition sessions. There will be further recall auditions on the afternoon of Sun 17th Mar for those being considered for the roles of Jeremy, Jemima and the dance ensemble.

Audition applications will open in late January and will be able to be booked through this website. This is an open audition and therefore you do not have to be a paid-up member of Echo Youth Theatre to audition, but you will need to register with us and, if you are cast, you will need to become a member.

REHEARSAL SCHEDULE

For the roles of Jeremy and Jemima, attendance will be required at most rehearsals for the full rehearsal period. Rehearsals will start in late April (after Easter weekend) and regular rehearsal times are Wed evening 7pm-9.30pm and Sunday 3pm-8pm.

For the child ensemble, the cast will rehearse as two teams: Team Toot Sweets and Team Ole Bamboo, as follows:

Team Toot Sweets: Sun 30th Jun, 3-8pm
Wed 3rd Jul, 7-9.30pm
Sun 14th Jul, 3-8pm
Wed 17th Jul, 7-9.30pm
Sun 28th Jul, 3-8pm
Wed 31st Jul, 6-10pm
Thu 1st Aug, 7-10pm
Sun 4th Aug, 5-10pm
Mon 5th Aug 5-10pm


Team Ole Bamboo: Sun 7th Jul, 3-8pm
Wed 10th Jul, 7-9.30pm
Sun 21st Jul, 3-8pm
Wed 24th Jul, 7-9.30pm
Sun 28th Jul, 3-8pm
Wed 31st Jul, 6-10pm
Fri 2nd Aug, 7-10pm
Sun 4th Aug, 5-10pm
Mon 5th Aug 5-10pm


SHOW PERFORMANCE DETAILS

Team Toot Sweets Tuesday 6th August – 7:30pm
Team Ole Bamboo Wednesday 7th August – 2:30pm
Team Ole Bamboo Wednesday 7th August – 7:30pm
Team Toot Sweets Thursday 8th August – 7:30pm
Team Ole Bamboo Friday 9th August – 7:30pm
Team Toot Sweets Saturday 10th August – 2:30pm
Team Toot Sweets Saturday 10th August – 7:30pm
Team Ole Bamboo Sunday 11th August – 2:30pm

COSTS

Membership to Echo Youth Theatre is £15 for annual membership and will need to be paid online once casting is confirmed. The show fee will be £25 and this will need to be paid by all cast by the beginning of July. If this will cause any difficulties, please speak to us and we can discuss payments in instalments, if this helps. If the cost of the show fee is prohibitive, please talk to us about possible sponsorship opportunities.
test1
test2